BECCA GODINEZ SET TO DEBUT AT CATALINA JAZZ CLUB

BECCA GODINEZ SET TO DEBUT AT

CATALINA JAZZ CLUB

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT: TED BENITO (E:tedibenito@gmail.com)

 Becca Godinez (Singer/Songwriter, Actress,Producer/Director)

(Los Angeles, May 04, 2017) – Becca Godinez – actress, singer/songwriter, producer/director – makes a much anticipated return to the concert stage with “Me, Myself & Music” on Saturday, May 20 in Hollywood. The intimate show, which highlights songs that have influenced the artist through the years, serves as Becca’s one-woman debut at the legendary Catalina Jazz Club. While Becca has performed in numerous musical concerts in recent years (“Apl.de.ap Takes You to the Philippines” at the Hollywood Bowl and  “Jazzmopolitan” at the Ford Amphitheater, to name a few), the Catalina engagement marks the first time in over seven years she will take the microphone as a solo artist.

“After 2009, I performed with other artists – perhaps because it was safer that way,” muses Becca.  “I was returning to the concert stage after an absence and not having to singularly carry a show was easier.  Sharing an act allowed me the chance to stretch, to rediscover what I could do stylistically and vocally and I began to grow into the entertainer that I wanted to be. Appearing in a solo concert on that [Catalina] stage will be a feather on my cap, for sure.  I like being close to the audience – to reach out and Catalina is the perfect venue for that.”

“Me, Myself & Music” will present an eclectic mix of songs and musical genres covering everything from Brazilian jazz, to contemporary pop to acapella music. There will even be some original music that Becca will be presenting for the first time. “The audience will hear my voice – my choice of songs – the kind of music that I have loved – music that has influenced my song choices and styles.  There will be no frills – just five musicians and me.  I will be able to show all facets of my music and all the crazy sides of me.”

A portion of the concert proceeds will benefit two needy charities that Becca is personally involved with – Children’s Hospital Los Angeles (CHLA) (introduced to Becca by friend Ted Benito) and her own library system she developed in the Philippines that benefit children. “I have always leaned towards advocacies for children,” explains Becca. “CHLA is a true friend to children and their health care needs.  They rely on the generosity of philanthropists to support patient care and as well do research that could positively impact all children today and in the future.  In the Philippines, God opened avenues that allowed me to establish four childrens’ libraries to date.  All of these are located in financially depressed areas.  It was my dream but must confess that I did not do it alone.  It is a humble but successful effort.  I believe any child – given equal educational opportunities – can better or even surpass the successes of those who have been given an easier lot in life.”

As special guests for the evening, Becca will welcome the Philippine Chamber Singers (PCS), the chorale ensemble under the direction of Gelo Francisco. “I love them;  I love their immense talents individually and as a whole and, I love the varied song styles they tackle,” said Becca.  “I love hearing the coming together of musical chords.  I saw PCS perform at the Disney Concert Hall last year and thought…’gosh I’d like to harmonize with that talented group!’”

The veteran performer, who got her start in Manila in television and in musical theater, will also give a musical nod to those genres as part of the evening’s repertoire.  “There’s a big difference between a concert, musical theater and television.   Musical theatre is scripted; performing in a musical allows me to sing but it is as a fictitious character,” says Becca.  “It is similar with television.  I hosted several of my own TV shows in Manila, but in the end, it is also scripted in a way as to please a specifically themed hour that involves guests, dancers, interviews, etc.   A solo concert is freeing.   I get to choose songs that could be random, funny, crazy – a mash up of musical styles and it is my raw heart that is offered to the audience.”

 

********

GODinUs Music presents

BECCA GODINEZ: “ME, MYSELF & MUSIC”

Saturday, May 20, 2017
Catalina Jazz Club
6725 W. Sunset Blvd., Hollywood, CA 90028

TICKETS: $45
For tickets call: (323) 466-2210 or visit: www.catalinajazzclub.com

Two Item minimum or dinner per person
(not included with ticket price)

Doors open at 7:00 pm
Show at 8:30 pm
Club Parking Available: $6

Supporting  CHILDREN’S HOSPITAL LOS ANGELES
To learn more about CHLA visit www.chla.org

“Me, Myself & Music” is a sentimental journey of songs from the American songbook, contemporary rock & pop and Broadway that have touched Becca Godinez’s heart and soul through the years. Becca Godinez is an award-winning, exciting, contemporary vocalist and singer/songwriter who brings a pastiche of music – Brazilian bossa, Broadway classics, modern pop, soft rock, jazz and Christian – punctuated by her unique and innovative interpretation. As an international artist, Becca has performed in Tokyo, Hong Kong, London, Manila and at major venues including the Hollywood Bowl and the Ford Amphitheater.  “Me, Myself & Music” marks Becca’s Catalina Jazz Club debut. ​

Leave a Reply

